The Governing Body

St Julie’s Catholic High School - Governing Body

The Governing Body

Governing bodies are the key strategic decision-making body of every school. It is their role to set the school’s overall aims and objectives and to ensure all statutory duties are met.  They have responsibility for raising school standards through their three core functions:

•    Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
•    Holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff; and
•    Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

Reconstitution of the Governing Body - St Julie’s Catholic High School

In accordance with the 2012 constitution regulations the Governing Body the Governing Body for St Julie’s Catholic High School reconstituted with effect from 10 June 2015. The membership of the new Governing Body comprises the following categories of Governor:

•    Seven Foundation Governors
•    Headteacher
•    One Staff Governor
•    Two Parent Governors
•    One Local Authority Governor

Foundation Governors

Foundation Governors are those appointed by the Trustees of the Sisters of Notre Dame.  They have a specific role in preserving and developing the ethos of the school, including any religious character. They must also ensure the school is conducted in accordance with the foundation’s governing documents.


The Headteacher is a Governor by virtue of office.

Staff Governor

The Staff Governor is employed by the school and is elected by the staff.

Parent Governors

Parent governors are elected by other parents at the school. Any parent, or carer, of a registered pupil at the school at the time of election is eligible to stand for election as a parent governor. Parent governors may continue to hold office until the end of their term of office even if their child leaves the school.

Local Authority Governor

Local authority governors are nominated by the local authority but appointed by the governing body.


The key Committees of the Governing Body cover the following areas

Link Governors

St Julie’s Governing Body has a Link Governor system where Governors have volunteered to be assigned to a specific curriculum area of the school.  This enables effective lines of communication to be established and maintained between the curriculum and the governing body.  

Chair of Governors:  Sister Margaret Walsh SND

Foundation Governors appointed by the Sisters of Notre Dame Trustees:
Sister Margaret Walsh SND (Appointed 1/1/18 to 31/12/22)
Ms M McDaid (Vice Chair) (Appointed 1/1/18 to 31/12/22)
Mrs E Gillies (Appointed 1/9/15 to 8/2/19)
Mrs P Kemble (Appointed 4/2/15 to 3/2/19)
Mr A Catterall (Appointed 1/9/17 to 31/8/21)
Mr J Thornhill (Appointed 21/10/17 to 20/10/20)

Parent Governors
Mrs J Cross (Appointed 26/2/18 to 25/1/22)
Mrs L Riccio-Jones (Appointed 12/3/15 to 11/3/19)

Staff Governor
Mr P Brooks (Appointed 1/4/16 to 1/4/19)

LA Governor
Mr Mark Norris (to 15/4/18)

Mr T Alderman (Appointed 1/9/10 by virtue of office)

Clerk to the Governing Body
Mrs B Cain


2018 - 2019

Sister Margaret Walsh SND (Chair)
Mr A Catterall
Mr M Norris
Mr J Thornhill
Mrs P Kemble
Ms M McDaid
Mr T Alderman

Finance, Premises and Health and Safety
Mr A Catterall (Chair)
Mr P Brooks
Sister Margaret Walsh SND
Mrs E Gillies
Mrs L Riccio Jones
Mr T Alderman

Teaching & Learning
Sister Margaret Walsh SND
Ms M McDaid    
Mr M Norris
Mr J Thornhill (Chair)
Mr P Brooks
Mrs L Riccio-Jones
Mr T Alderman

Mr P Brooks (Chair)
Mr M Norris
Mr T Alderman

Progress & Achievement Panel
Ms M McDaid (Chair)
Mr J Thornhill
Mrs E Gillies

Link Governors
Safeguarding: Mrs P Kemble
SEN: Sr. Margaret Walsh SND
English Department: Vacant             
Maths Department: Mr J Thornhill            
Science Department: Mr A Catterall              
Design & Technology:  Vacant         
Humanities: Mr M Norris                    
MFL: Ms M McDaid             
Performing Arts: Mrs L Riccio-Jones            
RE/Chaplaincy: Sister Margaret Walsh SND         
Social Studies: Mrs E Gillies           

Register of Interests:        

Governors hold an important public office and their identity should be known to their school and wider communities. . The Governing Body’s Code of Conduct includes the requirement to publish the Register of Interests on the school website.

Mr Mark Norris - LA Governor   
1.    Governing Member, Woolton Primary School
2.    Partner, Employee at Liverpool Hope University

Mrs E Gillies - Foundation Governor
1.     Works in an FE College

Sister Margaret Walsh - Foundation Governor
1.    Sister of Notre Dame
2.    Director, Otterspool Management Company

Mrs Maureen McDaid
1. Gateacre Comprehensive IEB
2. Governor, St. Nicholas' Catholic Primary School

Governing Body - Code of Conduct

As individuals, the Governing Body has agreed to the following:

The Code of Conduct was formally adopted by the Governing Body on 10 June 2015.  Review date - June 2016

Attendance at Meetings

The record of attendance for meetings can be found on this page.